In the Spotlight (Elementary – 3/28/2012)

“It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.” Albert Einstein

***********
– Forest Creek kindergarten students become critical consumers of information and wise shoppers. Visit “Sanders’ Bugs Advertise!” at http://forestcreekcoyotech.blogspot.com/2012/03/sanders-bugs-advertise.html.
– Great Oaks kindergarten students use robotics to become engineers. Visit “What??? Kindergarten Robotics???” at http://zapp314.blogspot.com/2012/03/what-kindergarten-robotics.html.

***********
– Berkman 1st grade students use a webcam in order to have anytime, anywhere, real time observation of their classroom science lesson. Visit “The Eggs Have Arrived & They Have Their Own Channel” at http://gettingitrightberkman.blogspot.com/2012/03/eggs-have-arrived-they-have-their-own.html.
– Forest Creek 1st grade students enhance their writing skills. Visit “Delgado’s Dragons Publish” at http://forestcreekcoyotech.blogspot.com/2012/03/delgados-dragons-publish.html.
– Gattis 1st grade students use Skype to take a virtual trip to Canada. Visit “Skype to Saskatchewan, Canada” at http://gattistech.blogspot.com/2012/03/skype-to-saskatchewan-canada.html.

***********
– Berkman 2nd grade students use blogs as a communication tool and to post what they find during research. Visit “Students Begin Blogging” at http://gettingitrightberkman.blogspot.com/2012/03/students-begin-blogging.html and “Enrichment Through Technology” at http://gettingitrightberkman.blogspot.com/2012/03/enrichment-through-technology.html.
– Great Oaks 2nd grade students combine writing and robotics. Visit “Absolutely Adorable Lego WeDo Projects” at http://zapp314.blogspot.com/2012/03/absolutely-adorable-lego-wedo-projects.html.
– Great Oaks 2nd grade students create a Claymation video as part of a service learning project on conserving natural resources. Visit “Joy’s Joys Amazing Claymation Project” at http://zapp314.blogspot.com/2012/03/joys-joys-amazing-claymation-project.html.
– Old Town 2nd grade students use Kidspiration to study the food chain. Visit “What do second graders eat?” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/03/20/what-do-second-graders-eat/.
– Voigt 2nd grade students study media literacy and communicate using blogs. Visit “Students Begin Blogging” at http://gettingitrightvoigt.blogspot.com/2012/03/students-begin-blogging.html.
– Voigt 2nd grade students use spreadsheets to record and graph collected weather data. Visit “What’s the Weather Like?” at http://gettingitrightvoigt.blogspot.com/2012/03/whats-weather-like.html.

***********
– Brushy Creek 3rd grade students create and edit classroom videos of themselves and their school to share with students in another state. Visit “Third Grade MovieMakers” at http://teachingitbces.edublogs.org/2012/03/21/third-grade-moviemakers/.
– Anderson Mill 3rd grade students use interactive technology to expand their math skills. Visit “Fractions” at http://ames-it-right.blogspot.com/2012/03/fractions.html.
– Voigt 3rd grade students learn about Internet Safety. Visit “Internet Safety Lesson with Little Red” at http://gettingitrightvoigt.blogspot.com/2012/03/internet-safety-lesson-with-little-red.html.

***********
– Caraway 4th grade students combine physical activity and technology to graph data and develop deeper math skills. Visit “How High Can We Jump?” at http://kcesitech.blogspot.com/2012/03/how-high-can-we-jump.html.

***********
– Deepwood 5th grade students experience architectural design. Visit “Google SketchUp” at http://dwesits.blogspot.com/2012/03/google-sketchup.html.
– Fern Bluff 5th grade students use technology to create videos of their poetry projects. Visit “Poetry Videos using Animoto” http://fernbluffit.edublogs.org/2012/03/08/poetry-videos-using-animoto/.
– Jollyville 5th grade students talk about their efforts to prepare for the upcoming RRISD Robotics Showcase. Visit “Robotics Special Projects” at http://www.jvestech.blogspot.com/2012/03/jollyville-robotics-special-projects.html.

***********
– Double File students use technology to document their reading comprehension and personal reading goals. Visit “Accelerated Reader” at http://dfttech.blogspot.com/2012/03/accelerated-reader.html.
– Live Oak students use online resources as part of their Famous Americans research. Visit “Who am I?” at http://liveoakit.blogspot.com/2012/03/who-am-i.html.
– Ponds Springs students use response devices to participate in Battle of the Bluebonnets. Visit “Battle with TurningPoint” at http://pondspringsit.blogspot.com/2012/03/ponds-springs-battle-with-turningpoint.html.
– Purple Sage students take second place in Battle of the Bluebonnets. Visit “Purple Sage takes 2nd Place in the Bluebonnets. at http://psesitech.blogspot.com/2012/03/purple-sage-takes-2nd-place-in.html.
– Pond Springs students use Google Docs to participate in a survey to select their enrichment class choices. Visit “Fridays are Sweeter with Google Docs” at http://pondspringsit.blogspot.com/2012/03/fridays-are-sweeter-with-google-docs.html.
– Voigt students enrich their learning using technology. Visit “Enrichment Through Technology” at http://gettingitrightvoigt.blogspot.com/2012/03/enrichment-through-technology.html.

***********
– Voigt teachers use Wikispaces to collaborate and plan technology integration. Visit “Technology Workshops” at http://gettingitrightvoigt.blogspot.com/2012/03/technology-workshops.html.

In the Spotlight (Secondary – 3/20/2012)

“The need to know the capital of Florida died when my phone learned the answer. Rather, the students of tomorrow need to be able to think creatively: they will need to learn on their own, adapt to new challenges and innovate on-the-fly.” Anthony Chivetta, high school student in Missouri 
(http://www.lasalleschools.net/technology.cfm)

***********
Cedar Valley Middle School “Erasing the R Word”
Public Service Announcement
http://cevmstech.blogspot.com/2012/03/erasing-r-word.html

***********
Cedar Valley Middle School “This is how you do it”
Students create How To’s
http://cevmstech.blogspot.com/2012/02/this-is-how-you-do-it.html

***********
Grisham middle School “Hero’s Journey”
Students integrate Moodle to collaborate online as they write myths or folktales.
http://grishamtechnology.blogspot.com/2012/03/myth-heros-journey-using-moodle.html

***********
Hernandez middle School “Technology Helps Students Prepare for STAAR Writing”
Students use an online resource to help them with their writing.
http://hemsbulldogbytes.blogspot.com/2012/03/technology-helps-student-prepare-for.html

***********
Hopewell Middle School “Movie Maker in Science”
http://hwms.weebly.com/

***********
Ridgeview Middle School “Stop Action Animation
http://ridgeviewtechnology.blogspot.com/#!/2012/03/stop-action-animation.html

***********

Stony Point High School students talk technology at SXSW.
http://www.rrleader.com/main.asp?SectionID=1&SubSectionID=1&ArticleID=29046&TM=55580.98

In the Spotlight (Elementary – 3/8/2012)

Round Rock ISD will be closed for Spring Break during the week of March 12th – March 16th. In the meantime, enjoy these current Getting I.T. Right postings.

***********
– Chandler Oaks Kindergarten students create and publish a video on the research they did on Cheetahs. Visit “Kindergarten Investigates: Cheetahs” at http://chandleroakselementary.blogspot.com/2012/03/kindergarten-investigates-cheetahs.html.

***********
– Sommer 1st grade students research and publish their findings on penguins. Visit “First Grade Research Project on Penguins” at http://sommerit.blogspot.com/2012/03/first-grade-research-project-on.html.

***********
– Caldwell Heights 2nd grade students create comics and movies to use images and sounds to persuade. Visit the March 6, 2012 posting at http://stayingactivelyengaged.blogspot.com/p/getting-it-right-at-ches.html.
– Old Town 2nd grade students use spreadsheets to create graphs of temperature. Visit “Rising and Falling Temperatures” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/03/07/rising-and-falling-temperatures/.
– Sommer 2nd grade students produce news-broadcast weather reports based on their weather research. Visit “Second Grade Meteorologists” at http://sommerit.blogspot.com/2012/03/second-grade-meteorologists.html.

***********
– Bluebonnet 4th grade students and their parents get a little homework help with a “how-to” video library. Visit “Can’t Remember How the Teacher Did That Problem In Class?” at http://www.bbestech.blogspot.com/2012/02/cant-remember-how-teacher-did-that.html.
– Wells Branch 4th grade students use digital thermometers. Visit “4th Graders Using GoTemp!” at http://wellsbranchtech.edublogs.org/2012/03/07/4th-graders-using-gotemp/.

***********
– Spicewood 5th grade students use technology as a major component of their PYP (International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program) exhibitions. Visit “5th Graders Explore Technology for Their Exhibition” at http://spicewoodtechnology.blogspot.com/2012/03/5th-graders-explore-technology-for.html.

***********
– Old Town students demonstrate their knowledge of the Bluebonnet books which they read. Visit “Voting with TurningPoint” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/03/05/voting-with-turning-point/.
– Double File library book fair goes digital. Visit “Library doing Digital Book Fair” at http://dfttech.blogspot.com/2012/03/library-doing-digital.html.

In the Spotlight (Secondary – 3/6/2012)

***********
“The future belongs to young people who know where the knowledge is, how to get it, how to think about it, and how to turn it into better work, better products, and better lives.”
Rexford Brown, Executive Director, P.S. 1 Charter School and Urban Learning Communities, Inc.

***********

C.D. Fulkes Middle School
Mrs. Walden’s Journalism Class sses Adobe Photoshop and Indesign to create the yearbook
http://cdfmstechlizards.blogspot.com/2012/02/mrs-waldens-journalism-class-uses-adobe.html

Cedar Valley Middle School

This is How You do It
http://cevmstech.blogspot.com/2012/02/this-is-how-you-do-it.html

Cedar Valley is in the News for DLD
http://cevmstech.blogspot.com/2012/02/cedar-valley-is-in-news-for-dld.html

Commercial Espanol
http://cevmstech.blogspot.com/2012/02/comercial-espanol.html

Deerpark Middle School

Super Source Citing with Animoto
http://deerparkits.blogspot.com/2012/02/super-source-citing-with-animoto.html

QR Codes Everywhere
http://deerparkits.blogspot.com/2012/02/more-qr-codes-everywhere.html

Ridgeview Middle School

Brain Pop Helps with Clauses
http://ridgeviewtechnology.blogspot.com/#!/2012/03/brainpop-helps-with-clauses.html

Netbooks Make a Splash in Dance
http://ridgeviewtechnology.blogspot.com/#!/2012/02/netbooks-make-splash-in-dance.html

Bring Your Own Technology

Ridgeview Middle School
http://ridgeviewtechnology.blogspot.com/#!/2012/02/mrs-pickles-class-uses-cell-phone-to.html

Walsh Middle School
http://walsh2011technology.blogspot.com/view/classic

Cedar Ridge High School

Tech Tuesday – Smart Slates
http://cedarridgeit.edublogs.org/2012/02/28/tech-tuesday-smart-slates/

In the Spotlight (Elementary – 3/2/2012)

“There can be infinite uses of the computer and new age technology, but if the teachers themselves are not able to bring it into the classroom and make it work, then it fails.”
Nancy Kassebaum, US Senator

***********
– Deepwood students design T-shirts for their school. Visit “Digital T-Shirt Design” at http://dwesits.blogspot.com/2012/02/digital-t-shirt-design.html.
– Forest Creek students study scientific tools and crystals. Visit “Mercado’s Students Explore Science with Technology!” at http://forestcreekcoyotech.blogspot.com/2012/02/mercados-students-explore-science-with.html.
– Fern Bluff and Jollyville students compete against other students and campuses on their knowledge of Bluebonnet books. Visit “Battle of the Bluebonnets” at http://fernbluffit.edublogs.org/2012/02/24/battle-of-the-bluebonnets/ and http://www.jvestech.blogspot.com/2012/02/battle-of-bluebonnets.html.

***********
– Old Town kindergarten students study symbols and leaders. Visit “Be a Leader” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/03/02/be-a-leader/.
– Old Town kindergarten students use laptops. Visit “Kinder Stations” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/02/23/kinder-stations/.
– Wells Branch kindergarten students research animals. Visit “Kinder Kids are WILD Animals!” at http://wellsbranchtech.edublogs.org/2012/02/28/kinder-kids-are-wild-animals/.

***********
– Herrington 1st grade students write digitally. Visit “1st Graders Learn Microsoft Word Skills” at http://herringtontech.blogspot.com/2012/02/1st-graders-learn-microsoft-word-skills.html.
– Old Town 1st grade teachers incorporate interactive technology in lessons. Visit “Teachers Learn Too” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/02/23/teachers-learn-too/.
– Spicewood 1st grade students study the importance of water to all living things. Visit “Google Earth Helps 1st Grade Explore Water Around the World” at http://spicewoodtechnology.blogspot.com/2012/03/google-earth-helps-1st-grade-explore.html.
– Chandler Oaks 1st grade students practice identifying and counting coins using Smart Table. Visit “1st Grade Students Get Smart with the Smart Table” at http://chandleroakselementary.blogspot.com/2012/02/1st-grade-students-get-smart-with-smart.html.

***********
– Teravista 2nd grade students create digital book reports. Visit “Second Grade” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/second-grade.html.
– Laurel Mountain 2nd and 3rd grade students express themselves through student created movies. Visit “Second and Third Grade Movie Makers” at http://lmetech.weebly.com/1/post/2012/02/second-and-third-grade-movie-makers.html.

***********
– Teravista 3rd grade students create digital book reports. Visit “Book Reports” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/book-reports.html.
– Bluebonnet 3rd grade students explore media literacy. Visit “Three Media Literacy” at http://www.bbestech.blogspot.com/2012/02/grade-three-media-literacy.html.
– Forest Creek 3rd grade students blog about books and kindness. Visit “Couture’s Crocodiles Blog Kindness” at http://forestcreekcoyotech.blogspot.com/2012/02/coutures-crocodiles-blog-kindness.html.
– Teravista 3rd grade students create travel brochures as they study media literacy. Visit “3rd Grade Media Literacy” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/glogster.html.

***********
– Bluebonnet 4th grade students get a little extra help with their math homework using a video how-to. Visit “Can’t Remember How Teacher Did That Problem in Class” at http://www.bbestech.blogspot.com/2012/02/cant-remember-how-teacher-did-that.html.
– Chandler Oaks 4th grade students study and graph the reasons why people migrate. Visit “4th Grade Graphs their Origins” at http://chandleroakselementary.blogspot.com/2012/02/4th-grade-graphs-their-origins.html.
– Gattis 4th grade students study geometry. Visit “Angles – What do we know?” at http://gattistech.blogspot.com/2012/02/angles.html.
– Old Town 4th grade students create book report commercials. Visit “Will you read this book?” at http://oldtowntech.edublogs.org/2012/02/27/will-you-read-this-book/.
– Sommer 4th grade students create book report videos. Visit “TAG Students are Creating a Book Trailer” at http://sommerit.blogspot.com/2012/02/tag-students-are-creating-book-trailer.html.
– Teravista 4th grade students create documentaries. Visit “TAG Update” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/tag-update.html.

***********
– Deepwood 5th grade students create digital stories for kindergarten students. Visit “Little Bird Tales” at http://dwesits.blogspot.com/2012/02/little-bird-tales.html.
– Chandler Oaks 5th grade students take a closer look at what makes their school environmentally aware. Visit “5th Grade Investigates: What Makes Us Green?” at http://chandleroakselementary.blogspot.com/2012/02/5th-grade-investigates-what-makes-us.html.
– Teravista 5th grade students create reports and timelines on famous people. Visit “5th Grade Biographies” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/5th-grade-biographies.html.
– Teravista 5th grade student study animal adaptations. Visit “5th Grade Science” at http://teravistatechnology.blogspot.com/2012/02/5th-grade-science.html.
– Union Hill 5th grade students study black history and create digital reports. Visit “Literary Nonfiction + Black History Month = 5th Grade Powerpoints” at http://unionhilltech.blogspot.com/2012/02/literary-nonfiction-black-history-month.html.

***********
– Blackland TAG students learn how to combine real-time and video learning. Visit “Students in Mrs. Horony’s Classroom” at http://anitaoliverblog.blogspot.com/2012/02/students-in-mrs.html.
– Deepwood TAG students reflect on their week through video blogs. Visit “Students Video Blog on Kidblog.org at http://dwesits.blogspot.com/2012/02/students-video-blog-on-kidblogorg.html.